Planish crop.jpg

“PLANISH” (N003)

‘ Mark Hanslip and Emil Karlsen are a new collaboration on the UK improvised music scene. They met about a year ago on a gig in Liverpool, decided to have a play, and felt an immediate musical connection. Several gigs later they are releasing their debut record ‘planish’. A meeting of a gifted young drummer and an experienced improviser, 'planish' is an explorations of the full scope of the sax/drums format, from textural open playing to fiery free jazz. ‘

Mark Hanslip - sax
Emil Karlsen - drums

Modern machinery.jpg


Catch 22 are an explosive new improvising trio hailing from the fringes of the Leeds jazz scene. Heavy riffs, angular motifs and haunting melodies, the three young musicians create a whirlwind of sound and energy that will blow you away.


“ FLUX “ (N001)

Emil Karlsen’s solo record ”Flux” is based around making the most out of the drum set in terms of extended techniques, timbre and textures - improvised. Inspired by his Norwegian background, this project is a portrait of many years thinking compositionally and texturally about the drums, especially when put in a solo context. Challenging both the role of the drum set as well as the audience listening is the key aspects of this record.